BREED SPECIFIC

AND

 ALL BREED RESCUES

2011

Contact/Rescue Phone Email Website / Special Notes
All Breed      
Adopt-a-Dog, Save-a-Life
Grace Hall 416-787-3862 info@adoptadogsavealife.com www.adoptadogsavealife.com 
All Breed Canine Rescue 
Lois Jackson 519-633-6226 allbreedcaninerescue@sympatico.ca www.allbreedcaninerescue.petfinder.com
All Heart Pet Rescue
Kathy Jeanneault 705-724-2630 bearcreek@efni.com www.ontariopetrescue.com 
Animal Adoptions of Flamborough Inc.
Betty Griffiths 905-689-4972  elizabeth.griffiths@sympatico.ca  www.anadoptflam.com
Animal Alliance of Canada (Project Jessie)
Shelly Hawley-Yan 519-940-4712 shelly@animalalliance.ca www.projectjessie.ca
416-462-9541 http://www.petfinder.com/shelters/ON320.html
Pete and Ann Wilson 905-939-2692 annandpete@sympatico.ca www.annandpetesrescuedogs.com   
http://www.petfinder.com/shelters/ON31.html
Austin's Folly Animal Rescue 
Kevin and Debbie Austin 519-268-0086  kevin.austin128@yahoo.ca   http://www.petfinder.com/shelters/ON334.html
Blue Moon Rescue
Lorraine Marchand 613-984-1450 bluemoonrescue@gmail.com  www.bluemoonrescue.petfinder.org
Bow Wow Rescue
Michelle Layton 519-482-3642  mm.layton@tcc.on.ca http://www.petfinder.com/shelters/ON284.html
Bytown Association for Rescued Kanines (BARK)
Sharon McKeil 613-738-0119 smckeil@primus.ca www.bark-ottawa.com
Nadine Marcotte  819-776-5090 nadine.marcotte@sympatico.ca  www.bark-ottawa.com
The Dog Rescuers Inc.
Joan Znidarec  416-567-6249    paws4labs@yahoo.ca www.thedogrescuersinc.petfinder.com
Mano Krueger 905-483-7523 thedogrescuersinc@yahoo.com www.thedogrescuersinc.petfinder.com
Grand River All Breed Rescue
Robin Brenner 519-650-9228 grandriverrescue@hotmail.com   www.grandriverallbreedrescue.ca
Highland Animal Relief Team (HART)
Linda Elsegood 613-338-3333 info@hartanimalrelief.ca www.hartanimalrelief.ca
Nickquenum Dog Rescue
Rhea Koch northernpassage17@yahoo.ca www.petfinder.com/shelters/ON200.html
Ontario Canine Rescue
Jackie Daniels 226-922-9374 info@ontariocaninerescue.com  www.ontariocaninerescue.com
Precious Paws Rescue
Cassandra Jackson 705-252-1754 preciousrescue@hotmail.com www.preciouspawsrescue.ca
Southern Ontario Animal Rescue (S.O.A.R.)
Jan Paquete 905-450-5992 info@soardogrescue.ca www.soardogrescue.ca  
Speaking of Dogs Rescue
Lorraine Houston 416-444-4190 lhh4dogs@rogers.com www.speakingofdogs.com
The Animal Guardian Society
905-263-8247 tagsinfo@yahoo.ca  www.animalguardian.org   
Small Breed      
Kismutt Rescue 
Kimberly Thomas  519-283-6585  kismutt@sympatico.ca   www.kismutt.com   
LOYAL Rescue Inc.
Brenda Bunn 705-772-4916 loyalrescue@netscape.ca www.loyalrescue.com
Pomeranian and Small Breed Rescue
Silvana Alberton 905-356-7857 psbrescue@yahoo.ca www.psbrescue.com
Happy Tails Rescue
Carol Thorpe 905-820-4494 carol@happytailsrescue.ca www.happytailsrescue.ca
Snookie's Little Rescue
Christine  604-418-0856  snookieslittlerescue@rogers.com Snookieslittlerescue.petfinder.com 
Chris  416-388-6487 snookieslittlerescue@rogers.com Snookieslittlerescue.petfinder.com 
Skype Name:  snookieslittlerescue
Tiny Paws Rescue
Brenda Harney 905-342-3189 generalinquiries.tpdrc@gmail.com www.tpdr.ca
Giant Breed      
Birch Haven Rescue and Rehabilitation Services
Gwendilin Boers 613-725-4279  gwen@birchhaven.org www.birchhaven.org
boers@ripnet.com
Heather Cole 905-349-2704 dobermanrescue2003@yahoo.ca www.petfinder.com/shelters/ON311
Senior Dogs      
Speaking of Dogs Rescue
Lorraine Houston 416-444-4190 lhh4dogs@rogers.com www.speakingofdogs.com
Hopeful Hearts
Roz Phelps  613-286-0009 roz_n_k9s@yahoo.com   www.hopefulhearts.ca 
Save Our Seniors (SOS) Animal Rescue 
Karen Hume  khume63@yahoo.ca 
Mature Dog Adoptions
Bobbie Glazier 613-548-8858 maturedogs@sympatico.ca www.maturedogs.petfinder.org
**will also list and assist senior dogs on web site
Special Medical Needs       
Westminster Pet Sanctuary
kelli O'Brien 613-673-2203 westminsterpet@aol.com www.westminsterpetsanctuary.com
Palliative Care      
Sheba's Haven Rescue
Catherine Pokrywa 613-353-8725 paws_toes@sympatico.ca www.shebashaven.petfinder.com
Afghan Hound      
Barbara Arndt rescue@ahcc.ca www.ahcc.ca/rescuecontact.html
Airedale Terrier      
Barbara Durance  416-259-1429 bpdurance@rogers.com www.airecanada.com  www.aire-rescue.com 
Alaskan Klee Kai      
June Demers 705-882-2311 info@pancakebay.com
Alaskan Malamute       
Alaskan Malamute HELP League 519-389-3622  ontario@malamuterescue.com www.malamuterescue.com  
**Will also take mixes when space permits
American Bulldog      
Bullies In Need bullies_in_need@hotmail.com www.bulliesinneed.ca
American Eskimo Dog      
Andrea Goss/Carmen Heron         www.reskie.com
**Do not take owner surrenders - will help with referrals 
American Hairless Terrier      
Ingrid Czerwenka 905-852-2290 ingrid@ratterrierrescue.ca www.ratterrierrescue.ca
American Pit Bull Terrier      
Bullies In Need bullies_in_need@hotmail.com www.bulliesinneed.ca
American Staffordshire Terrier    
Bullies In Need bullies_in_need@hotmail.com www.bulliesinneed.ca
Australian Shepherd      
Nicole Wright  905-786-2103  aussierescue@gmail.com www.ontarioaussies.ca
Basenji      
Lynn Arrand 519-735-2568 mankia@mnsi.net www.basenjiclubofcanada.com
Basset Hound       
Dawn O`Keeffe 519-369-9922 dawn@bassetrescue.ca www.bassetrescue.ca
Phyllis Stapells 519-942-2582 phyllis@bassetrescue.ca www.bassetrescue.ca
Beagle      
Marna Gale 416-693-5590 bigonbeagles@primus.ca  www.bigonbeagles.ca
Bearded Collie      
Colleen Proctor 519-232-4601 colleen@K9Treasure.com www.bccc.pair.com
Belgian Shepherd Dog      
Sheila Benoit 905-441-4535 sheila@ravenmasque.com www.ravenmasque.com/rescue.html
Belgian Malinois      
Joan Znidarec  416-567-6249    paws4labs@yahoo.ca www.thedogrescuersinc.petfinder.com
Mano Krueger 905-483-7523 thedogrescuersinc@yahoo.com www.thedogrescuersinc.petfinder.com
Bernese Mountain Dog      
Barbara Gowan    905-768-3671   gowans@globalserve.net   www.bmdco.on.ca
Maureen Greaves 403-226-4953 maureen@delagreabmd.com  www.bmdcc.ca
Bichon Frise      
Carol Thorpe 905-820-4494 carol@happytailsrescue.ca www.happytailsrescue.ca
Judy Keep 905-357-5096 judianne@happytailsrescue.ca  www.happytailsrescue.ca
Bloodhound      
Georgette Hannah 519-428-0724 onbhrescue@yahoo.ca www.petfinder.com/shelters/ON143.html
Jean Stone 705-476-9603 houndrescue@yahoo.ca www.petfinder.com/shelters/ON143.html
Bluetick Coonhound      
Jean Stone 705-476-9603 houndrescue@yahoo.ca www.petfinder.com/shelters/ON143.html
Georgette Hannah 519-428-0724 onbhrescue@yahoo.ca www.petfinder.com/shelters/ON143.html
Border Collie      
Cindy Boht/Chris Lavery 905-579-2291 mosstheboss2000@rogers.com   www.bordercollierescueont.com
Luan Egan 905-473-9050 roverdale@gmail.com  www.bcrescue.info
Sharon Wilson 905-839-1751  sharabc@yahoo.ca     www.bordercollierescueont.com
Border Terrier      
Isobel McGowan 416-285-9137 isobel@pathcom.com www.cbtwelfare.org
Boston Terrier      
Kelly Pankatz  705-444-6260  info@bostonterrierrescuecanada.com www.bostonterrierrescuecanada.com
** Will take mixes when possible
Bouvier des Flandres       
Carolyn Rein 780-464-0834 rein-c@shaw.ca www.albertabouvierclub.com/rescue.html
Boxer      
Barb MacLean 416-750-4709  barbsboxers@rogers.com  www.boxerrescueontario.com
Linda Lloyd 519-763-5426 linda.lloyd@sympatico.ca www.boxerrescueontario.com
Bracco Italiano      
Dermot Moore  905-885-2821  dermotmoore@cogeco.ca 
Brittany Spaniel      
Helen Tostevin 519-457-3618 htostevin@yahoo.ca www.nbran.org 
Konrad Wee konradwee@gmail.com www.americanbrittanyrescue.org
Bull Terrier      
Bullies In Need bullies_in_need@hotmail.com www.bulliesinneed.ca
Mari-Lou Powell  905-791-4513 bullterrier1@live.ca www.thebullterrierclub.ca 
Bulldog (English)      
Joan Weston 416-738-6059  k9shrink@gmail.com
Mary Coles 519-833-9757
Bulldog (French)      
Deborah Alce 519-229-6546 jdalce@quadro.net www.frenchbulldogfanciers.com
Bullmastiff      
Amy Lewis 416-951-1322 alewis@sympatico.ca www.broc.ca
Cairn Terrier      
Linda Kettlewell 905-459-2601 linwell@sympatico.ca
Catahoula Leopard Dog      
Gloria Baggs 613-673-8808  gbaggs@rogers.com www.ontariocatahoularescue.petfinder.com www.catahoularescue.com 
Chihuahua      
Canadian Chihuahua Rescue and Transport 877-783-7333 info@ccrt.net http://www.ccrt.net
Terry Fogel 647- 955-0705
Chinese Crested      
April Donoghue crazycresteds@rogers.com  www.sccrescueofontario.petfinder.com
Chinese Shar-pei      
Andrea Robins 905-833-3310 csprescue@sympatico.ca www.csprescue.ca
Sharon Palmay 705-435-1556 palmays.bandb@sympatico.ca www.csprescue.ca
Kathy Mills 866-588-7656 rescue@merlinshope.com  http://merlinshope.com 
Chow Chow        
Kathy Mills 866-588-7656 rescue@merlinshope.com  http://merlinshope.com 
Clumber Spaniel        
Dermot Moore  905-885-2821  dermotmoore@cogeco.ca 
Cocker Spaniel      
Catherine Zilber 613-820-1669 haroldzilber@yahoo.ca  www.cockeradoption.org
Collie (Rough and Smooth)        
Jennifer MacDonald 807-868-1028 rescue@collierescuenetwork.com www.collierescuenetwork.com
Corgi (Welsh Pembroke)      
Bonnie Downing 705-527-4177 bdowning@rogers.com 
Dachshund        
Tammy McGregor 519-341-9817 tammy.mcgregor@gmail.com www.drna.org
Trace Morfey 705-457-8419 info@wienerdogrescue.com www.wienerdogrescue.com
traces@sympatico.ca
Dalmatian        
Mary MacNeill    dalrescue@hotmail.com  www.dalrescue.org 
Dandie Dinmont      
Heather Forbes 905-702-9525 hforbes100@gmail.com
Doberman      
The Animal Guardian Society 905-263-8247 tagsinfo@yahoo.ca www.animalguardian.org
Erica Dale 905-852-7491 erica@harleywood.ca www.ontariodoberescue.com 
*email preferred
Doodle      
Valerie Base 905-820-2424 vbase@sympatico.ca http://www.idog.biz/ForAdoption.html
English Setter      
Jack and Beth Genuino 905-637-4305 setters@rocketmail.com www.petfinder.com/shelters/ON244.html
Joanne Wilk 416-825-2658 settersanctuary@hotmail.com www.petfinder.com/shelters/settersanctuary.html
German Shepherd Dog      
Cassandra Jackson 705-252-1754 preciousrescue@hotmail.com www.preciouspawsrescue.ca
Kathy Jeanneault 705-724-2630 bearcreek@efni.com www.ontariopetrescue.com 
German Shorthaired Pointer        
Heather Brennan  519-833-7309  nuthatch@aztec-net.com 
Golden Retriever        
Cherie Barlow/Barb Almeida 416-657-2445    info@golden-rescue.net www.goldenrescue.ca
866-712-8444
Gordon Setter      
Linda Williams 705-687-3229   williams_2@sympatico.ca www.petfinder.org/shelters/ON178.html
Joanne Wilk 416-825-2658 settersanctuary@hotmail.com www.petfinder.com/shelters/settersanctuary.html
Great Dane       
Jo Anne Richards 705-878-5845 joanne@greatdanerescueinc.com  www.greatdanerescueinc.com
Gwendilin Boers 613-725-4279 gwen@birchhaven.org www.birchhaven.org
boers@ripnet.com
Great Pyrenees      
Carol Graham 519-853-3005 www.gpcso.com
 519-855-6439
Greyhound        
Greyhound Lovers of Hamilton Wentworth (GLOHW)
Reg Cramp  905-547-4850 glohw@glohw.com  www.glohw.com
Adopt-A-Greyhound of Central Canada Inc.
Lynda Seed  613-489-0654  info@adopt-a-greyhound.com   www.adopt-a-greyhound.com
Greyhound's Circle of Friends      
Joanne and Rodney Hopkins 905-692-1644 greyhounds@mountaincable.net http://greyhoundscircle.tripod.com/
Irish Setter      
Joanne Wilk 416-825-2658 settersanctuary@hotmail.com www.petfinder.com/shelters/settersanctuary.html
Connie O'Brien 613-989-1342 connie@silverstonekennel.ca www.irishsettercanada.org
Irish Terrier      
Pat MacDonald 519-666-0195 imacd@uwo.ca
Irish Wolfhound      
Cindy Nuttall 705-741-3270 nuttall@nexicom.net www.irishwolfhoundclubofcanada.ca
Heather Cole 905-349-2704 dobermanrescue2003@yahoo.ca www.petfinder.com/shelters/ON311
Gwendilin Boers 613-725-4279  gwen@birchhaven.org www.birchhaven.org
boers@ripnet.com
Italian Greyhound      
Heather Lawson 306-229-2123 obedienceig@hotmail.com. www.igcc.ca/rescue.html
Italian Pointer      
Dermot Moore  905-885-2821  dermotmoore@cogeco.ca 
Jack Russell Terrier      
Cathy Chambers 519-371-5865 cathyjacks@hurontel.on.ca  www.russellrescue.org
Jocelyn Dollack 416-266-4769 dollack@rogers.com www.russellrescue.org
Emily Skelton 905-885-2106 tomandemily@bell.net www.russellrescue.org
Japanese Spaniel (Chin)      
Dagmar Skala   coniferlane@sympatico.ca
Keeshond        
Ardis Shurtleff 613-389-5888 keeburnie@kos.net
Richard and Sarah Keefer 705-799-0645 Info@keeshondrescueofontario.com www.keeshondrescueofontario.com
Kerry Blue Terrier      
Louise Lang 416-484-0008 lang@kerryblues.org www.kerryblues.org
Kuvasz      
Olga Schmidt 519-443-7088 brantwoodkuvasz@silomail.com www.kuvaszclubofcanada.org
Labrador Retriever        
Laura J or Karen H  289-997-LABS info@lab-rescue.ca www.lab-rescue.ca
Joan Znidarec  416-567-6249    paws4labs@yahoo.ca www.thedogrescuersinc.petfinder.com
Mano Krueger 905-483-7523 thedogrescuersinc@yahoo.com www.thedogrescuersinc.petfinder.com
Leonberger      
Gail Bishop 705-487-2517 bishop@orovale.com www.Leorescueontario.com 
Maltese      
Carol Thorpe 905-820-4494 carol@happytailsrescue.ca www.happytailsrescue.ca
Judy Keep 905-357-5096 judianne@happytailsrescue.ca  www.happytailsrescue.ca
Mastiff        
Lerene Masterson  905-433-5592 lerene@mastiffcanada.org www.mastiffcanada.org/Rescue.html
Heather Cole 905-349-2704 dobermanrescue2003@yahoo.ca www.petfinder.com/shelters/ON311
Mexican Hairless (Xoloitzcuintli)     
Shannon Larson 403-793-2248                      xolorescueleague@yahoo.ca www.xolorescueleague.petfinder.com
Miniature Pinscher      
Ruth Cottrill 613-733-6277   minpinerie@yahoo.ca www.minpinrescue.org
Newfoundland      
Denise Serediuk 905-665-9341 denise.serediuk@rogers.com www.canadiannewfrescue.ca
Gwendilin Boers 613-725-4279  gwen@birchhaven.org www.birchhaven.org
boers@ripnet.com
Heather Cole 905-349-2704 dobermanrescue2003@yahoo.ca www.petfinder.com/shelters/ON311
Norfolk Terrier      
Clive & Mary Davies 905-936-2879 cdavies@bconnex.net
Linda and Peter Dowdle  519-938-8663  linda@dralionkennels.com www.dralionkennels.com
Norwegian Elkhound      
Donna Surman 604-435-3213 gladshiem@hotmail.com www.elkhoundrescue.org
Norwich Terrier       
Linda and Peter Dowdle  519-938-8663  linda@dralionkennels.com www.dralionkennels.com
Nova Scotia Duck Tolling Retreiver    
Karen Machin DVM PhD 306-257-3347 karen.machin@usask.ca  www.toller.ca/rescue.html
Old English Sheepdog      
Dr. Sandra Crowne 519-634-5548 dearbear_at_ladykin@yahoo.ca  www.ladykinOES.com
info@ladykinOES.com 
Kris Lau 905-473-3373 tailsunited@hotmail.com 
Papillon      
Deb and Bob Crabtree 905-563-8731 gidgetsuki@hotmail.com www.papilloncanada.org
Rose Copland 289-566-9504 rosecopland@live.com www.papilloncanada.org
Pekingese      
Mary and Chris St. Mary 716-681-2221  mstmary@msn.com www.thepekingeseclubofamerica.com
716-867-7973 Located in Buffalo, NY
Pomeranian      
Silvana Alberton 905-356-7857 psbrescue@yahoo.ca www.psbrescue.com
Poodle (Miniature and Toy)      
Morgan Jarvis 905-623-3940 morgan@superdogcentral.com www.superdogcentral.com www.petfinder.com/shelters/ON304.html
Lorraine Houston 416-444-4190 lhh4dogs@rogers.com www.speakingofdogs.com
Poodle (Standard)      
Morgan Jarvis 905-623-3940 morgan@superdogcentral.com www.superdogcentral.com www.petfinder.com/shelters/ON304.html
Portuguese Water Dog      
Mari Szauerzopf 519-824-3133 mari@drewsar.com  www.pwdcc.org
Pug      
Pugalug Pug Rescue  416-901-6854 rescue@pugalug.com www.pugalug.com
Genevieve Boucher   613-558-7070 undermywingpugrescue@gmail.com www.undermywingpugrescue.com
Dagmar Skala   coniferlane@sympatico.ca www.pugcanada.com
Rat Terrier      
Ingrid Czerwenka 905-852-2290 ingrid@ratterrierrescue.ca www.ratterrierrescue.ca
Rhodesian Ridgeback        
Carole Bradley-Kennedy  905-659-6971 ckennedy@ridgebackrescue.org   www.ridgebackrescue.org 
Annice Jacek-Winterfield 905-628-8672 ajacekwinterfield@ridgebackrescue.org  www.ridgebackrescue.org 
Rottweiler      
Jan Paquete 905-450-5992 info@soardogrescue.ca www.soardogrescue.ca  
Saluki      
Janice Preiss  905-729-3198  azad1@rogers.com  www.salukicanada.com
Schipperke      
June Demers 705-882-2311 info@pancakebay.com www.schipperkecanada.com
Schnauzer (Miniature)      
Andrea Walli 416-234-8714 walli@sympatico.ca www.msro.com 
Scottish Terrier        
Linda St. James 905-701-1754 info@gryndlscot.com www.canadianscottishterrierclub.org
Shetland Sheepdog      
Kathie Perron 905-386-2222 southontsheltierescue@yahoogroups.com www.sheltierescuesos.petfinder.com
Aileen Rundell 416-749-2807 NeedsforBreeds@rogers.com www.sheltierescuesos.petfinder.com
Shiba Inu      
Jackie Clayton 519-831-8998 shibarescuegta@yahoo.com www.shibarescuegta.com
Shih Tzu      
Brenda Harney 905-342-3189 generalinquiries.tpdrc@gmail.com www.tpdr.ca
Siberian Husky        
Paul and Nedi Sweeney 613-396-3695  husky1@reztel.net  www.shebafoundation.petfinder.org
Lisa Kerkkamp 905-713-1531 SiberRescueON@gmail.com
Soft-Coated Wheaten Terrier       
Vicki Duncanson 613-345-1390 vicke@bell.net www.wheatenrescue.org
Josey Kitson 416-873-6453 joseykitson@gmail.com www.wheatenrescue.org
Springer Spaniel (English)      
English Springer Rescue Association of Canada  info@englishspringerrescue.ca www.englishspringerrescue.ca
Bonnie Masson 705-737-2591 biminica@sympatico.ca www.srecc.org
St. Bernard      
Gwendilin Boers 613-725-4279  gwen@birchhaven.org www.birchhaven.org                                                     
boers@ripnet.com
Heather Cole 905-349-2704 dobermanrescue2003@yahoo.ca www.petfinder.com/shelters/ON311
Staffordshire Bull Terrier      
Bullies In Need bullies_in_need@hotmail.com www.bulliesinneed.ca
Vizsla      
Elaine Hopkins 705-743-7894 chakra@peterboro.net www.vsovizsla.org
Weimaraner      
Deb Wilson 905-937-7131 info@ontarioweimaranerrescue.com www.ontarioweimaranerrescue.com
West Highland White Terrier      
Corrie Yeoman 905-936-6691 corrie@westiesinneed.ca http://www.westiesinneed.ca
Kim McLean 613-652-4974 Kim@WestiesinNeed.ca http://www.westiesinneed.ca
Jeanette Graves  1-877-861-3375  needhelp@westierescueofcanada.com www.westierescueofcanada.com
Brigitte Dimock 519-822-0308 brigitte.dimock@gmail.com http://www.canadawestieclub.ca
Dorothy Byrne 905-666-1070 http://www.canadawestieclub.ca
Whippet       
Sherrall Chapman  613-475-6000  billchapman@sympatico.ca
Yorkshire Terrier      
Brenda Bunn 705-772-4916    loyalrescue@netscape.ca  www.loyalrescue.com  

This directory is made possible through Speaking of Dogs.... please visit their website. www.speakingofdogs.com